Page 1 of 1
How can I fix the lack of pillars at index 31?
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:03 am
by MrChoke
I am sure some of you have seen this. If you want to put a floor down at position 31 of either X or Y (far right or far bottom row) of the map, you will see it doesn't place pillars. And you cannot manually try to place them yourself. You do and you crash the editor.
Without pillars any wall texture I have tried has black void in between the walls where a pillar should go. It looks awful.
Is anyone aware of a wall texture I can use that doesn't require a pillar?
Or maybe I call setWorldPosition() on some pillars to put them in position (Ugh, I don't want to have to do that).
Thoughts?
Re: How can I fix the lack of pillars at index 31?
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 3:18 am
by minmay
The standard pillars are aligned to the top left corner of their square. A grid with 32x32 squares will have 33x33 corners on those squares; that's basic 2D geometry. So to put one of the standard pillars on one of the bottom or rightmost corners, you'd have to put it at x position 32 or y position 32 - i.e. in a square that doesn't exist.
What should work fine is changing the position of the model in 3D space. Define your own pillar object and align it to the bottom right corner of the square instead of the top left.
Re: How can I fix the lack of pillars at index 31?
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 4:34 am
by Isaac
minmay wrote:The standard pillars are aligned to the top left corner of their square. A grid with 32x32 squares will have 33x33 corners on those squares; that's basic 2D geometry. So to put one of the standard pillars on one of the bottom or rightmost corners, you'd have to put it at x position 32 or y position 32 - i.e. in a square that doesn't exist.
What should work fine is changing the position of the model in 3D space. Define your own pillar object and align it to the bottom right corner of the square instead of the top left.
This is
the answer; we did this a lot in ORRR2.
Re: How can I fix the lack of pillars at index 31?
Posted: Thu Nov 13, 2014 12:47 pm
by MrChoke
Isaac wrote:minmay wrote:The standard pillars are aligned to the top left corner of their square. A grid with 32x32 squares will have 33x33 corners on those squares; that's basic 2D geometry. So to put one of the standard pillars on one of the bottom or rightmost corners, you'd have to put it at x position 32 or y position 32 - i.e. in a square that doesn't exist.
What should work fine is changing the position of the model in 3D space. Define your own pillar object and align it to the bottom right corner of the square instead of the top left.
This is
the answer; we did this a lot in ORRR2.
I am hoping I can use an offset command to move the model then. I don't know how to do it in a tool yet. I'll try that. Thanks.