[SOLVED] setWorldPosition: Can't Interact w/ Buttons ...

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
User avatar
Lark
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:23 pm
Location: Springfield, MO USA

[SOLVED] setWorldPosition: Can't Interact w/ Buttons ...

Post by Lark »

I'm writing a parameter-based script to place multiple buttons/levers on a wall and things were going well until I discovered that I can't interact with buttons or levers that have been placed with setWorldPosition on the north and east walls. The full script takes rotation into account, but here is a simple one to demonstrate my problem. It places four levers in the same square with the script all facing in and kicks the levers to the side with setWorldPosition. I can only flip levers on the south and west walls. Why? Is this broken for others too? Puts a kink in my scripts - the buttons/levers look nice, easy to place, but are useless. :( I searched the forums, but no luck so far. Thanks, -Lark

Code: Select all

for i = 0, 3 do
  ctl = spawn("lever", self.go.level, self.go.x, self.go.y, i, self.go.elevation, self.go.id .."_lever_"..i)
  pos = ctl:getWorldPosition()
  j = i % 2 * 2 + 1
  pos[j] = pos[j] + .4
  ctl:setWorldPosition(pos)
  end
Last edited by Lark on Mon Nov 03, 2014 5:44 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Prozail
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 3:36 pm

Re: setWorldPosition: Can't Interact w/ Buttons & Levers?

Post by Prozail »

I had the problem when putting them next to an alcove. That is why i put them on the pillar in my dungeonshop-thingy
User avatar
Blichew
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:39 am

Re: setWorldPosition: Can't Interact w/ Buttons & Levers?

Post by Blichew »

I had the same problem when I moved stuff with setWorldPosition manually (levers and switches). Trick here was that 3rd param (or other one maybe ? Depends on the facing? I guess for me it always has been 3rd one) had to be lowered by 0.0001 or something. It's moved in front of the wall but the value is so small that the differenct is basically unnoticable.

Check if with console: print(entity:getWorldPosition()) and then experiment with setWorldPosition :)
Jackard
Posts: 59
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2014 7:32 pm

Re: setWorldPosition: Can't Interact w/ Buttons & Levers?

Post by Jackard »

setWorldPosition parameters seem to be X, Z, Y, ?

You can only interact with one object at a time - I had a button behind a ladder, would not work until I moved it away from both the ladder and the wall.
User avatar
Lark
Posts: 178
Joined: Wed Sep 19, 2012 4:23 pm
Location: Springfield, MO USA

Re: setWorldPosition: Can't Interact w/ Buttons & Leve

Post by Lark »

Blichew wrote:... had to be lowered by 0.0001 or something.
Thank you Blichew! That's exactly the hint I needed. Even if you get use getWorldPosition and immediately call setWorldPosition with the unaltered vector returned from the get, the buttons are slightly behind the walls. The adjustment did the trick, so I'm back on course. Thank you! -Lark
Post Reply