Map Layers

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
NutJob
Posts: 426
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:35 pm

Map Layers

Post by NutJob »

Question 1: Has anyone successfully retrieved information about the layers, be it specific:

Code: Select all

-- fake code
tile_type, floor_height, ceiling_height, {list, of, objects, at, this, coordinate}, other, variables = map.layer:getInfo(x,y)
or general:

Code: Select all

-- more fake code
table = getMapLayer(level)
-- table containing all the layers much like the generated layout in dungeons.lua
--
--
--


Question 2: Is there way to force objects to a certain point within a tile? I was looking at the MapGraphicsComponent and there's a few curious methods that may do this. I could be wrong. The result I'm looking for requires more in-depth placement then just facing a cardinal direction something like theObj.controller.pushObj(280,891) from it's starting location on a tile. (Example Use: push a few levers so they're all lined up next to one another on one wall; they do, only, require a mouse click to use so I see no reason to have them bunched together, if possible).
User avatar
Prozail
Posts: 158
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2014 3:36 pm

Re: Map Layers

Post by Prozail »

for #2: Not really sure if this is what you mean, but try putting two levers ontop of eachother and then try this

Code: Select all


local t = lever_1:getWorldPosition()
t[2] = 0.7
print(t)
lever_1:setWorldPosition(t)

NutJob
Posts: 426
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2014 6:35 pm

Re: Map Layers

Post by NutJob »

Prozail wrote:for #2: Not really sure if this is what you mean, but try putting two levers ontop of eachother and then try this

Code: Select all


local t = lever_1:getWorldPosition()
t[2] = 0.7
print(t)
lever_1:setWorldPosition(t)

That is EXACTLY what I needed to know! Thank you!

Code: Select all

	local t = lever_1:getWorldPosition()
	for m,n in ipairs(t) do
		print(m,n)
	end
	t[1] = 84.5
	lever_1:setWorldPosition(t)

Now I can do this!

Image
MrChoke
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:20 pm

Re: Map Layers

Post by MrChoke »

I would love to know how to access the layers as well. It seems like that is still an known in what people have been able to figure out.
User avatar
Isaac
Posts: 3188
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2012 10:02 pm

Re: Map Layers

Post by Isaac »

Man... the hoops I had to hop through to get that to work in LoG1. :shock:
Image
User avatar
Blichew
Posts: 157
Joined: Thu Sep 27, 2012 12:39 am

Re: Map Layers

Post by Blichew »

I'll just chip-in with my memory-like puzzle that looks like this:
Image

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8049&p=81414#p81400 :)
Post Reply