How do we specify hooks in init scripts?

Ask for help about creating mods and scripts for Grimrock 2 or share your tips, scripts, tools and assets with other modders here. Warning: forum contains spoilers!
Post Reply
MrChoke
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:20 pm

How do we specify hooks in init scripts?

Post by MrChoke »

Maybe this has been answered and I just failed to find it. You know how in LoG1 we can override hooks by adding them to init.lua. Take this one for the party:

cloneObject{
name = "party",
baseObject = "party",

onMove = function(self, dir)
print("party moves in direction", dir)
end,
}

I think its now "defineObject" but I can't seem to figure out how to do it? Does anybody know?
User avatar
Doridion
Posts: 256
Joined: Tue Jun 10, 2014 9:23 pm

Re: How do we specify hooks in init scripts?

Post by Doridion »

Think than Jgwman coded a hook for his Combat Log. Just called in the init.lua but seems to be a fine hook definition.
User avatar
JKos
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:03 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How do we specify hooks in init scripts?

Post by JKos »

viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7642
so you don't have to test which of the old party-hooks do work and which don't.
- LoG Framework 2http://sites.google.com/site/jkoslog2 Define hooks in runtime by entity.name or entity.id + multiple hooks support.
- cloneObject viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8450
MrChoke
Posts: 324
Joined: Sat Oct 25, 2014 7:20 pm

Re: How do we specify hooks in init scripts?

Post by MrChoke »

JKos wrote:viewtopic.php?f=22&t=7642
so you don't have to test which of the old party-hooks do work and which don't.
Thanks!
User avatar
Jgwman
Posts: 144
Joined: Thu Jun 28, 2012 10:14 pm

Re: How do we specify hooks in init scripts?

Post by Jgwman »

Thought I should mention-it seems that there is no longer an onUseItem hook. Just use onAttack and check if weapon.usableitem exists.
User avatar
JKos
Posts: 464
Joined: Wed Sep 12, 2012 10:03 pm
Location: Finland
Contact:

Re: How do we specify hooks in init scripts?

Post by JKos »

I just noticed that you can now define hooks dynamically in run time.

Example
party.party:addConnector("onMove", "hooks", "onPartyMove")

Nice! So I guess I don't have to write "LoG Framework" for LoG2.
- LoG Framework 2http://sites.google.com/site/jkoslog2 Define hooks in runtime by entity.name or entity.id + multiple hooks support.
- cloneObject viewtopic.php?f=22&t=8450
Post Reply